07/07/2020 – The winners have been determined — auf Deutsch lesen

Janara Swimwear Award 2020

The “Janara Swimwear Award” annually honours the best swimwear labels for their outstanding collections.


Cidinho Pereira won the Janara Honorary Award 2020 with his label “BumBum Ipanema”. © Cidinho Pereira


Category “Retro” © Adriana Degreas

Show all images

Refined cuts, finest fabrics, new materials and extravagant applications, the swimwear range is becoming more and more multi-faceted and extensive. At the same time, cool start-ups with new ideas are sprouting from the ground, especially focusing on sustainability, environmental responsibility and social messages. The Janara Swimwear Award 2020, determined by the international jury of the “Foundation” of the world’s first museum for swimwear and bathing culture has now for the first time been given to honour the best swimwear labels for their outstanding collection / line / individual piece of 2020 and to make swimwear fashion transparent for the still young consumer market. Elections were held in six categories.

Black Lives Matter

The US label “MissesBrie” is the winner in the category Sustainability & Innovation. Founder Brielle Anyea not only makes fashion for women beyond the ideal bikini figure suggested by the advertisement industry, but also links her brand to socio-political issues and openly supports the “Black Lives Matter” movement. MissesBrie stands for “uplifting every woman, praising each other for every achievement, and reminding everyone to do everything with love”.

“Unleash your inner Fynebabe”, the swimwear label “Bfyne” from the US is the winner in the category Extravagant & Provocative. The 2020 collection combines African patterns with bold cut-outs.

In the category High Fashion & Elegance, the Australian label “Zimmermann” won, convincing the jury with elegant romantic pieces.

The Italian label “Etro” impressed with its Far-Eastern flair in the category Colorful & Jolly.

“Vintage aesthetic is an inspiration”

Several pieces by “Adriana Degreas” from São Paulo were ranked on top in the Retro category. The Brazilian “Bain Couture” out-stood everybody else with their new interpretation of the Réard Rose bikini and their line “The New Vintage”.

Two sisters from Liechtenstein simply cannot be overlooked. “Lanasia” is the winner in the Newcomer category. “Sustainability can be sexy” is the perfect mixture and hopeful message that recyclable and resource-saving pieces not a contradiction to sophistication and good looks.

Further top rankings: Lenny Niemeyer, Ashanti Swimwear, Dolce & Gabanna, Marlies Dekkers, Pain de Sucre and My Marini.

The Janara Swimwear Honorary Award 2020

In addition, the “Janara Swimwear Honorary Award” was presented for outstanding achievements in the swimwear industry. The winner was Brazilian Cidinho Pereira, who is currently celebrating his 40th company anniversary. He is already a swimwear legend in South America for a lifetime. He is the inventor of the models “Asa Delta” and “Fio Dental”.

In 1979, Cidinho opened the first pure swimwear store in South America in the Ipanema district of Rio de Janeiro. A short time later, he founded his own label BumBum Ipanema and transformed his shop into a pure BumBum Ipanema Store. This was the first label store for swimwear in South America. The brand was strongly expanding and had a store in Europe (Ibiza) and in North America. Today Cidinho is in his mid-70s and still runs a BumBum Ipanema Store in Rio de Janeiro.

Winner 2020

High Fashion & Elegance: Zimmermann

Colorful& Jolly: Etro

Extravagant & Provocative: Bfyne

Newcomer: Lanasia

Retro: Adriana Degreas

Sustainability& Innovation: MissesBrie

Janara Swimwear Honorary Award: Cidinho Pereira

The Janara Swimwear Award is held annually. The jury is made up of international experts, such as Ghislaine Rayer (Paris), Bruce Wigo (Fort Lauderdale), Helmut Schuster (Miami/Berlin), Roger Fritz (Munich).

The sponsor is the BikiniARTmuseum Foundation, the expert council and the representatives of the open archive of the BikiniARTmuseum in Bad Rappenau, Germany. Due to Corona, no gala could take place.